Jun. 8th, 2004

niankhsekhmet: (cleo veil)
...be allowed to procreate!

Let me back up for a moment while I try to regain my composure. Things like what I have just seen tend to be one of the few that can make me come quite literally unhinged.

My son, [livejournal.com profile] userbenu and I just went to our usual, local convenience store, Tapkens, and as we were walking in some blonde, young thing comes barreling up in her red sports car. One child, probably barely all of two years old, strapped into the front seat, another child, in a forward facingchild seat in the backseat. Never mind the fact that the wench nearly hit my son! We've gotten rather used to the inherent stupidity that most drivers in the world have with regard to pedestrians. We go in, pay for our gas, and going out, I realize that this IDIOT has not only left her children in the car unattended, she has left them in the car unattended with the engine running!!! I cannot fathom how potato chips and Camel cigarettes are worth potentially endangering the life of not one, but TWO of your children!!!!

Speaking for myself I would never have A) ever left my child in a car alone and unattended or B) left my child in a car unattended with the god-damned engine running!! My child is 16! He is still with me whenever we go anywhere!

Another child / motor vehicle pet peeve of mine is seeing young children being carted around in the back of pickup trucks, ie. in the truck bed itself. Since when did child restraint laws become null and void when one has a pickup truck?! You know, I had a friend, Bobby Pruitt, who was thrown from the bed of a pickup truck when he was all of fourteen years old. He didn't die right away. His skull was crushed and he was brain dead, so the family took him off of life support. It was devastating for everyone, and so stupidly unnecessary. If that can happen to an adolescent, how do you think a four year old would do, for example? It just boggles my mind how stupid parents can be.

I am equally mad at myself for not stopping, turning my butt around and going into that store and giving that mother a what for! I have friends who have had children die because of that sort of irresponsible neglect! I swear, the next time I see anyone do that...ANYONE, and I do not care who it is - I am going to get on the bloody phone and call the police and then I will call child protective services - and then we'll see what happens next. I equate that to leaving your infant in the bathtub full of water while you go answer the phone!! Someone who si that stupid does not deserve to have one child, let alone multiple children!

There are few things in this world that can make me go ballistic to the point of blindness. Putting the babies in danger is something that will make that happen so fast it's frightening. I absolutely will not tolerate that sort of thing under any circumstance. Mama lioness comes out and, man, it can will get ugly. I can still remember being in Meadows shopping mall when I was living in Las Vegas and getting into the face of a father who was beating his daughter with a clothes hanger from his dry cleaning he had just picked up. For God's sake! She couldn't have been any more than four years old! I yelled at the bastard for doing someting so awful then, and he told me to mind my own goddamned business! Luckily I made enough noise to have security guards sit up and take note, and he was asked to leave. But did anyone do anything for that child? No!

What is this garbage about minding one's own business when things like that happen? It should be everyone's business if the parents are too god-damned idiotic to realize that what they are doing or not doing is just flat out irresponsible and downright bad parenting! I equate neglecting a child in a car with the engine running just as much an abuse as beating that child with a coat hanger, or putting bruises on that child's body. Toddlers can move so fast! They can do amazing things that no parent can even be able to anticipate. Believe me when I say that putting a car into gear that is still running is not a stretch for quite a few of them.

The bottom line is this: If you do not have the common sense it takes to be responsible for the children that you sire or that pop out of your womb -then for God's sake, get yourself fixed! Take out a second mortgage and get vasectomy or a tubal ligation, go to Planned Parenthood, get birth control pills, an IUD, Norplant, whatever. Just DO NOT have children if you cannot take care of them properly! If you feel the need to breed, breed responsibly! People who are that bloody irresponsible do not DESERVE to have children. Take it from someone who had about five miscarriages prior to having the one child that she does have; children are a gift! Treat them like the Divine gift that they are! If you can't do that, then don't god-damned bother! That's all I have to say.

Profile

niankhsekhmet: (Default)
niankhsekhmet

February 2012

S M T W T F S
   1234
5 67891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 05:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios